Form of Government:

There are seven members of the Board of County Commissioners for Hillsborough County. Four are elected from single-member districts, and three are elected county wide. The Board approves the County’s operating and capital budgets and the County’s capital improvement program. It may take action on any programs for the improvement of the county and the welfare of its residents.  Under a Charter Ordinance that went into effect May 1985, County Commissioners are directed to perform legislative functions of government by developing policy for the management of Hillsborough County. The County Administrator, a professional appointed by the Board, and the administrative staff are responsible for the implementation of these policies.

The Board also serves as the Environmental Protection Commission. Individual Board members serve on various other boards, authorities, and commissions such as the Hillsborough Area Regional Transit Authority, Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council, Tampa Bay Water, Aviation Authority, Expressway Authority, Sports Authority, Port Authority, Arts Council of Hillsborough County, Children’s Board, Metropolitan Planning Organization, and the Council of Governments.


Regular meetings of the Board of County Commissioners are open to the public and are typically held on the first and third Wednesdays of each month, beginning at 9 a.m. Public Comment follows the opening of each meeting and speakers are limited to three minutes. The Commissioners’ offices and boardroom are located on the 2nd floor of County Center, 601 E. Kennedy Blvd. in downtown Tampa.  The meetings also are aired live on Hillsborough Television.

As Commissioner for District 1, Sandy asks that you please call the office if you have concerns with or need information about any county services. The Commissioner and her staff are here to serve you.

District 1 encompasses areas of Keystone, Odessa, Westchase, Town ‘n Country, Westshore, West Tampa, South Tampa, MacDill AFB, Downtown Tampa, Port of Tampa, Gibsonton, Apollo Beach, Southshore and Ruskin.


County Commission Website: